The iPhone Generation

 

First of all, I would like to say that I have nothing against Steve Jobs; I don’t know much about him but it appears he was a very smart man and very creative and innovative. My deepest sympathies go to his family and friends at their sad loss.

However…

 

I believe that one of Steve’s best work, the iPhone, has caused a generation of technology obsessed, impatient show-offs.

I’m not saying that Steve is to blame, simply, that his innovative design created a ripple effect. Apple’s rival companies quickly produced their own versions of this technology and now the majority of the first world is permanently attached to their mobile phone.

When I go to the pub, I see others staring gormlessly at their phone, interacting on twitter or Facebook, maybe playing a game on some ‘app’, but not interacting face to face with the people they are actually with – there is something extremely wrong with that. The iPhone is probably the most anti-social thing in the world. [I don’t count “social networks” as actually being social; it’s just advertising yourself]

When I walk past an Apple store, and see people queuing for the latest gizmo, I always feel a little infuriated and disappointed in society. I don’t see the point of always buying the newest thing, especially if you already have a similar product; it is a waste of money and will be old news within the year when Apple bring out their next big thing. Seeing the queue outside Apple shows me that people who invest in these products are flashy. They like having something advanced in technology that their friends don’t. There’s something extremely wrong with this attitude too.

I also detest the way that those who work in an Apple store are known as geniuses. I bet those tech heads don’t know much about anything else. They have lessened the meaning of the word. There is only one person I know who I would consider a genius. He is like a fountain, overflowing with information about all sorts of things; interesting things as well, not useless information, like what to do when you drop your iPhone down the toilet.

Turning the phone off and on again when there is a problem with it does not constitute a genius.

If all these people attached to their iphones are geniuses, I would rather be sat in the corner of the room, wearing a cone hat emblazoned with the letter D.

Yes I do think they are good inventions – I am amazed with the progress made to mobiles since the early ones, that resembled bricks, but I would still rather be present, actually living and experiencing things, than watching time go by on a tiny screen. I want to talk to friends and family face to face; I only want to access the internet once, maybe twice a day; I want to turn the pages of a real book; and I want to play old school games like Jenga and Scrabble that don’t include a computer competitor.

I spend enough of my day staring at a screen when I write blog posts, fiction or articles, or when I am scouring the net for jobs – I don’t want to then spend my free time aimlessly updating my social network or looking for sex toys on the internet (yes, I know someone who at the pub, used their phone to look for sex toys).

C’mon people! There is a whole world out there that doesn’t involve gluing your pasty face to a screen. Try it sometime.

It’s fun; I promise!

This entry was posted in apple, iphones, life, opinion, people, society, steve jobs, technology, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The iPhone Generation

  1. Jennifer R. says:

    Here is what I don’t understand – people who do not have a job that requires immediate response to emails always checking their phone.

    My husband owns a real estate company. He has many clients and over 300 agents. He uses a Blackberry and is on the phone or email constantly. He is answering questions, solving problems, running his company. And if we are in the middle of doing something (dinner, movie, etc) he will look to see who the email is from. If it requires immediate attention he will excuse himself – if it does not he let’s it go for right then.

    But so many people out there have regular 9-5 jobs (or are SAHMs) that do not require immediate attention of emails. No, they are twittering and on Facebook and texting – nothing urgent. So when they are uh-huhing you and looking at their little screen they are truly being rude and saying “My online life is more important than you.”

    Good post!

    OK, I do have to say I love my MacBook Pro and my iPod Touch (but I am never rude with it!!!)

Leave a Reply

