NaNoWriMo – day 14

I have decided that novel writing isn’t for me.

My short attention span isn’t conducive to writing something that is so long. I’m not exactly struggling to write the words, I’m just not that into it anymore. I’m bored of sitting at my laptop everyday to reach the target word count and I keep thinking of other things I could be doing…. christmas shopping, baking, writing flash fiction, showing my blog some love more than once a week, finding a real job.

I may be fed up of writing a novel, but at least it is only 30 days of writing that I am doing; only 16 days to go until NaNoWriMo is complete. I have great admiration for writer’s who have churned out many novels, that level of commitment is amazing. It’s just not me though.

I currently have 20,407 words; by the end of today I need to have 23,333, a huge uphill slog for me in my current state of feeling fed-up and with my slow writing process, but it’s something I am going to do! I can’t quit this thing. I will see it through and mark it down as an experience.

I don’t quit. I just get bored easily.

Hope everyone else participating in NaNoWriMo is doing ok.

This entry was posted in creative writing, NaNoWriMo, reflections, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

