Keep Calm and Carry On

I do actually have a mug like this =)

Lately I’ve been feeling all sorts of things… stressed out about not having a career plan, my lack of direction; depressed for personal reasons I’m not going to share with the blogosphere; angry at myself for poor time management; and yucky because I have a bad cold. And before you stop reading this post, thinking that I’m just going to complain about stuff, don’t worry because I’m not going to do that.

I had my moment of self-pity as I tried to get to sleep last night, now I’m on my moment of actually doing something about it. This is where the saying “Keep Calm and Carry On” springs to my mind.

I can’t just expect a career plan to fall into my lap, and there is not a lot I can do about my lack of direction, so I just need to stop worrying so much about it and know that I’m not going to go through life without a proper job. It may not be a fulfilling career but that’s ok because not everybody has the career they want; it’s not like the life ambition of the staff of McDonald’s was to work there; sometimes with jobs, you just gotta suck it up and do it, and not let it define you. I need to stop stressing and just find a job that I can do in order to earn money. Easier said than done, but next time I feel like I’m stressing about jobs, I’ll try and remember to Keep Calm and Carry On; just go with the flow so to speak.

The depressive personal reason, I’ve been living with for a year. Most of the time I have good days but sometimes the sadness of it takes me by surprise. I save that sadness for when I am alone or have someone to talk to about it; I let out my emotions and then Keep Calm and Carry On. If I didn’t it would probably control my life and I can’t let it do that. As the poet Robert Frost once said “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: It goes on”. No matter what happens, life carries on and I’d rather it didn’t go on without me, so I’m not going to let my issue take over me.

I think the time management issue is going to take a lot more to deal with, than just repeating Keep Calm and Carry On to myself. It might help in a ‘just get things done’ kind of way, but I think I might go to the library and see what self-help books they have on time management because my to do list is getting longer rather than shorter; my days don’t seem productive at all. I reckon my bout of laziness that I sometimes suffered with when doing assignments for university is back and stronger than ever; sometimes I just genuinely don’t have the time to do things, but more often than not, I just cannot be bothered. The phrase “never put off until tomorrow what can be done today” springs to mind as I write, but sometimes life is too short to do stuff that doesn’t interest you all that much but probably should be done, like ironing.

And as for my stanky cold, I just got to Keep Calm, Carry on, and dose myself up with plenty of medicine and tea, that is after all, the British way.

I hope you’ve found this post not too depressing but not too positive either. Too much self-pity is unattractive and too much positivity, I find, can be very annoying; so I’ve tried to strike the right balance between the two and I hope that you’ve found this post real and somewhat inspiring; maybe; teaching you all to just Keep Calm and Carry On

This entry was posted in happiness, inspiration, jobs, Journal, life, reflections, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keep Calm and Carry On

  1. Pingback: Keep Calm and Carry On | Best Way to Promote Your Blog | BlogHyped

  2. swcritic says:

    Great Post! I have the same feelings most of the time aswell!
    Also, I want that mug!!!

    • sophie king says:

      Thanks =) My sister got my one from John Lewis, not sure if they’re still selling them but definately worth a look.

Leave a Reply

