Mmm Carrot Cake

I’ve been meaning to make carrot cake for ages, and with lots of carrots sitting in my fridge, today seemed like a good day to give it go.

I found a really simple recipe for carrot cake on the BBC Good Food website; I didn’t follow it to the letter though.

Ingredients:

  • 300g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • half teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 200g soft brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 250ml oil
  • zest of 1 orange
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 200g grated carrots
  • 150g walnuts

For Frosting:

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 50g icing sugar
  • 250g cream cheese

These are the ingredients as listed on the website, however I excluded the walnuts, not wanting to pay £3.50 for a 100g bag, and I added a teaspoon of ground ginger as suggested on one of the comments left on the recipe. It doesn’t speculate which oil to use, so I used sunflower oil. I usually use this for baking but I did wonder if olive oil would work perhaps seeing as it’s carrot cake rather than chocolate cake??

You just simply combine the ingredients, pour into a greased cake tin (I used two smaller tins than suggested to make a layered cake) and then bake in the oven on a low 150 (130 for fan) for 1hour and 20 mins, until a skewer/knife comes out clean. My cake was done in an hour and 10 mins; varies on what kind of oven you have I guess.

After letting it cool, I decided to add some toffee fudge sauce to sandwich between the two cakes and then mixed the ingredients for the frosting, adding a few drops of vanilla extract for a little bit more sweetness. My frosting spreading skills are not magnificent but it’s not how it looks, it’s how it tastes… Delicious!

This entry was posted in baking, cake, food, homemade, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mmm Carrot Cake

  1. This looks great! Carrot cake is my mom’s favorite and she just happens to be coming to visit next weekend. I might have to make this for her 🙂

Leave a Reply

