My Musical Saturday

Having a quick glance through my emails on saturday morning, I read a new blog post on Have A Dream about Winston Churchill. The post features a youtube video set to music, with some of the inspirational words of such an inspirational leader. Watching this led me to youtube Churchill’s famous “We shall fight them on the beaches” speech. From this, I then watched footage from Churchill’s funeral, the first video I watched was with commentary from his bodyguard, and the second was set to the instrumental music of “I vow to thee”, then I got up a video with the lyrics to that song and felt very patriotic as I listened and read the information about it.

I then promptly spent the next hour or so watching video after video… “Jerusalem”, “Rule Britannia”, “Land of Hope and Glory” and of course, our national anthem “God Save the Queen”, during which I thought of the possibility that every time the national anthem was sung in the presence of the Queen, God put an extra few months on her life…. she would never die! 😀 hehe

Some of these videos show-cased English scenery, but most of them were recordings from last nights of The Proms. An annual summer season of classical music. The last night is by far the better night with all of these songs, and people in their finest clothes waving flags about in the Royal Albert Hall, and then there are those who crowd into parks all around the country to watch the events on a big screen, basically… it’s the biggest party in the UK.

I love the songs of our country… when I sing or listen to them, I feel patriotic, proud, enpowered. There’s quite a few pieces of pop culture music that makes me feel enpowered too. I just love these kind of songs. I love how music can describe pretty much any emotion you may be feeling as well. Music is universal and as the conductor says in the youtube clip below…Thank you for the music (how ABBA of him)

To round off my musical youtubing Saturday, the family and I went to the Birmingham Hippodrome (such a beautiful theatre) to see the musical “Oliver Twist” based on Charles Dickens’ work.

Yes… a very musical and very British saturday.

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. Aldous Huxley
For me, singing sad songs often has a way of healing a situation. It gets the hurt out in the open into the light, out of the darkness.
Reba McEntire
I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music. Billy Joel
This entry was posted in culture, enjoyment, happiness, hope, inspiration, Journal, music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

