Rainy Days

I’m going to be stereotypically British and talk about the weather for an entire post 🙂

There has been a LOT of rain recently; there isn’t the phrase “April Showers” for no reason, and logging into Facebook almost everyone in my news feed is complaining about it. Awful weather! … How dare water fall from the sky! … That wet stuff’s a bitch!

But I’m here to tell you that I love the rain!

My school of thinking is that there is no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing. And where did this idea that rain was bad come from exactly?

Rain is atmospheric and dramatic; which is probably why a lot of films have a rain scene… The Notebook, Four Weddings and a Funeral, The Shawshank Redemption, Forrest Gump, and of course, Singin’ in the Rain. It always add something to the scene I think, rain makes any scene more powerful.

I love getting wrapped up in rainy day clothes, using my black and white polka dot umbrella to prance down the street. But there is something I love more….

Sunshine AND rain.

You get the drama of the rain but everything still seems bright and more defined. I always feel more content and relaxed when the sun is shining through the rain; like the metaphorical storms in life are moving on.

Photo taken by me

 

 

 

This entry was posted in happiness, love, opinion, weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy Days

  1. I like ALL weather…well maybe not high winds – they scare me…especially during the night… but other than that pretty much everything else! It was tipping it down when I came out of work yesterday afternoon – proper spring rain – big fat drops that made their presence known… but it was also very mild – around 7/8C – and boy did it smell FRESH! Exactly as you’d expect to be wonderful life-giving Spring rain to smell! 🙂 Yes I was VERY wet when I got in the car, but (unfortunately) I’m not going to shrink 🙂 We desperately need every raindrop… and I was thankful for every single one. 🙂

    • sophie king says:

      I got very wet walking to work the other day, but I just held my head high and smiled 😀 Love that fresh smell too… rain is definately best in spring!

Leave a Reply

