Finding Positives

I hate my job. Fact.

For those not in the know, I have an evening cleaning job at a children’s nursery. Cleaning up after somebody else is nobody’s idea of a great job… well unless you are Monica from Friends… So I have been in a bit of a funk lately; hating the job, with lack of better options, and actually being compared to my sister (the worse thing you could ever do if you want to keep your knees… I’ll kick those right off πŸ™‚ )

The thing is, I hate being in a funk. It sucks the life out of you with it’s all consuming power, leaving you a deflated mass on the floor, lacking in energy to do anything at all. So in order to pull myself out of the funk, I decided on some positive thinking. And because my situation doesn’t look like it’s changing anytime soon, that positive thinking was aimed directly at my crappy job. What follows is a list I painstakingly compiled of the good things about my job…

1) The biscuits – there are always biscuits of every variety stockpiled in the staff room cupboard;

2) It makes sinking into a hot bath when I get home all the more satisfying;

3) I suppose it is kinda of therapeutic, wiping away the dirt;

4) I get lots of time to think – the automatic cleaning robot that I am can think of pretty things, and story ideas, and look forward to future happenings (parties, dream home etc);

5) The biscuits – you can never have too many of them;

6) It keeps me off jobseekers allowance and out of the jobcentre – let’s face it, if you go in there, there is no hope at all;

7) The staff there provide lots of ideas for characters of my future stories; the quiet one, the snobby one,Β etc;

8) I sometimes play with the toys – I’m there by myself so why not;

9) I get most of the day to myself – I can attempt to change my situation, I can write something, I can enjoy the glorious sunshine that Britain is having right now (and it is best to enjoy it whilst you can, never know when it’ll disappear for another year);

10) And finally, did I mention the biscuits? πŸ™‚

There you have it, and with a little positive thinking, I do feel better, and less in a funk.

Positive thinking all the way.

 

This entry was posted in humour, jobs, Journal, life, mind, reflections, thoughts, witty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding Positives

  1. subtlekate says:

    I want to know why you’re not sharing the biscuits?
    I think your quote up the top is very apt. Your working, which is great, and your moving with ideas in your head. What’s your next step?

    • sophie king says:

      Because they are just too good to share πŸ˜€
      Right now I’m just taking each day as it comes; looking for a job I would actually like and doing some writing, I’m also trying to not get too worked up about not progressing at the pace I would like and just enjoying the time I have whilst I have it. Like the image suggests, it will happen eventually.

  2. reebit says:

    I needed this. Enjoy your biscuits.

    • sophie king says:

      Why do you need some positive thinking Reebit?

      • reebit says:

        I have been incredibly positive these past few months, with a couple weak moments here and there. I have a huge challenge ahead of me this summer and I was beginning to lose some steam, and then you posted this and renewed it. So, Thank you! πŸ™‚

      • sophie king says:

        What good timing I have πŸ™‚ It is a struggle to remain positive all the time isn’t it.
        I wish you luck and plenty more positive moments in your challenges. x

Leave a Reply

