Jubilee-tastic

Jubilee weekend. My tv viewing is being bombarded with the royal family and of course everything British, so I thought I would share with the blogosphere a painting I did a little while ago.

The boyfriend’s brother was creating some artwork with acrylic paints on canvas, strategically placing splodges of paint over the canvas, and folding it in half to create a textured mass of light and dark; shading and highlighting; blue and white. And when he was done, he gave me a piece of paper so I could give it a go. It took me no more than 5 minutes to do but took ages to dry… and here it is:

When I was younger, I used to love painting and drawing. I was never any good, and didn’t progress much past generic pictures of a sunsets and trees, but I loved it. It was a little hobby that just fizzled out as I got older but making this british flag, it got me wanting to do more and the week after doing it, I did actually go out and buy some paper and some paints. I’ve got a few ideas for pictures in mind as well, which will hopefully be an improvement on my early years paintings.

This entry was posted in art, creative, Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

