My Cultured Rainy Days

Cultured people in the rain

I’m currently sitting in the warm and dry watching the rain as it is tapping at the window.

Feeling very cosy, I’m listening to classic fm as I do some writing and a bit of painting. I’m in a very cultured mood today as I’m trying to expand my horizons a little bit; push past this “popular culture” that consists of crummy reality television, stupid catchphrases, chavvy clothes, and bad attitudes.

I have a very fond dislike of mainstream society, so whilst the majority of people my age are out wasting their money at clubs, updating their facebook every minute with some mundande piece of information (do I really need to know you are eating a sandwich?), and watching the likes of X-Factor and TOWIE, I’m avoiding all that and trying to be different.

As well as being different from mainstream culture, listening to classical music, reading the greats of literature and perusing art galleries or creating my own art makes me feel smart. And I like feeling smart.

Do any of you have things that make you feel smart? Or not-so-smart? I must admit that although I like feeling brainy, sometimes you can’t beat a movie or something that doesn’t require a lot of thought. 😀

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Cultured Rainy Days

  1. subtlekate says:

    I am doing very much the same thing today. It’s raining and I have just done some painting which raised my spirits. I’m not sure if it’s made me feel smarter, but I think feeling good aids in that.

    • sophie king says:

      Painting is one of the best rainy day activities even if you are not a kid…. must be something about using colours when it is so grey outside that lifts the mood 🙂

Leave a Reply

