One Year – a significant amount of time that goes by too quickly

Today, this 11th day of July, I have been cleaning a nursery, every weekday evening for one entire year.

For something that was supposed to be a for now job, I can’t quite believe that I’ve been there for a year… actually probably do not want to believe. It was just supposed to be something to tide me over until I could find something more permanent, long-term and more in keeping with my qualifications, but the on-going job hunt has been in no way fruitful. I’m really hoping that there are other people out there who have been looking for a half-way decent job for a year too; if everybody else can get a job in a matter of weeks or months, I’d just feel really pathetic.

The job-hunt looks like it is going to continue for a little while longer so I need to use my free time more wisely. Instead of just blankly staring at job listings on the computer screen, I’m going to use this time to do stuff that I’ll be too busy to do in the future when I do get a full-time job. Learning to drive is the biggie, and the sooner I pass and get my own car, the sooner I can expand the area of my job search. And I need to up my writing some more. In the last year, I have only done 7 articles to be published, most of them for The Flaneur arts and culture journal, so I’m definately in need of multiplying my output and aiming to get published in other magazines as well.

You know what I really need? I need to stop being lazy! even if I don’t feel like doing anything, I’ve got to push myself. If I don’t then I’m not going anywhere and that thought scares the crap out of me. I admit that I have been coasting a bit in this last year, and I could kick myself for wasting my own time, but that’s not going to get me anywhere. I see the changes that need to be made and I’m gonna attempt to change them. It won’t happen overnight but taking little steps is definately a start.

 

 

This entry was posted in jobs, Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

