Work / Life Balance

Lately I have been putting a lot of thought into this concept of “work”.

I know it is the done thing in most parts of the world, giving away your time in exchange for money, which makes sense considering everything seems to have a price tag nowadays, but it doesn’t seem to me to be making people happy; well, I can’t imagine anybody being happy in some dead-end job.

I have read a few blog posts today, expressing that life is short and we need to make the most of it; live each day to its fullest and do whatever makes you happy. Well, that’s all well and good for the lucky ones who earn a living doing something they actually enjoy, but what about those who find themselves in mind-numbing, soul-killing menial jobs? Are they really satisfied with the weekends? On their deathbeds will they be wishing they had spent more time with family and friends, instead of being at work?

In the first world, work is a given; it helps to keep the country going, so how are we supposed to seize the day and make the most of it? Is there really enough time to work and make the most of each day we have been given? I think that there must be, considering that the whole country is not on anti-depressants, I just don’t know how people do it.

I think all this is coming from a fear that once I do finally get an English degree-worthy job, that I’ll become some kind of drone, that I won’t have the time or energy to make the most of life each and every day. Of course, finding a job you love doing, makes it feel less like work and you can enjoy each day, but personally, I haven’t a clue as to what job I would just love to do. I’m kind of hoping that when people read this post, they’ll comment and reassure me that having a job is not the be all and end all of somebody’s life; that their lives are not defined by some menial means of income and that they’ll tell me about how they make the most of each day; how they live life to the fullest, and how they make time for everything!

I need to know that a balance can be found.

This entry was posted in jobs, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Work / Life Balance

  1. reebit says:

    I’ve been doing a full time unpaid internship doing something that I’m fairly interested in. This is the closest thing I’ve been doing to a real office related job. I hate it. I hate the atmosphere. I hate the lack of interaction. But what I’m doing, I love. I think of it like this. I hate the fact that I stare at my computer all day and write things. But I do these things so this county can save their people in case of an emergency. If you don’t like the actual working, sometimes the principle can make it worth it. I could never just promote making widgets, I need to make a difference.

    • sophie king says:

      I think you’re very lucky to have found something that interests you, that you like doing. Sucks about the actual workplace but I think it’s probably the same in all offices. I wouldn’t mind being in a crappy workplace if I enjoyed what I’m doing. At the moment, in my evening job, I like interacting with the other girls, but I get there as they are leaving, leaving me to get on with cleaning in solitude, and it is a thankless, mind-numbing job. I think this post reflects that I am becoming ever so slightly jaded… that I’m thinking every job is going to be horrible. It’s good to know that people do find jobs they actually like though 🙂

Leave a Reply

