Back in the Habit…

…Well trying to get back into some good habits.

This last week I have been attempting to better myself by getting into some new and old habits. I’ve been a bit lax lately, and kind of lazy too, so I feel the need to establish some habits as part of an everyday routine… and currently, as a 23 year old, I think it’ll be easier to get into good habits now rather than when I’m 40 and too set in my ways.

Health and bodywise, I want to cut back on all the packets of crisps I consume and up the fruit and veg intake. This is particularly difficult when I’m craving something salty because fruit and veg are not salty! They just don’t appeal to me unless I’m after something sweet or they’re dunked in loads of dip. Also want to start some kind of exercise. I don’t think I’m fat and I’m definately not overweight, but getting into the habit of exercise should help me maintain my weight and physique in the future… and I’ve heard exercise is good for all sorts of things! šŸ˜‰

Beauty wise, I NEED to get into the routine of washing my face every night. I’m prone to oily skin which then leads to breakouts, made worse by my laziness, where I can’t be bothered to get out from my comfy spot in front of the tv to wash away my make-up… it’s a vicious circle!

The last good habit I need to get into is writing! My good habit of jotting down ideas is useless if I’m not going to write them out. I just think that I’ll do it another time. Lately, I haven’t really produced much writing; not many blog posts, not many articles for this arts blog I contribute to, not any new pieces of flash fiction going online. So I’ve decided to write for at least 20-30 minutes a day, expanding on what I’ve got jotted down in notebooks and on scrap bits of paper. I’m a very good procrastinator, so in the past I’ve always been “I’ll just do this and then I’ll do some writing” but there is always something else… Need to bring writing back to the forefront of my life and make it one of the most important things in my daily life, not just something to do on occassion.

I’m trying not to be too hard on myself when I don’t bother to commit to a particular habit one day, it takes more than a week to establish something.

There are a few more things I’m tryin to get into the habit of doing on a regular basis but if I wrote those out aswell I’d be here all day. I’m just trying to better myself! And I hope that by writing this out it’ll encourage and remind me to stick to it, and not to be lazy!

I may repeat myself in future posts and write again about making good habits but repetition is the foundation of creating such habits šŸ™‚

 

This entry was posted in Journal, life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back in the Habit…

  1. Subtlekate says:

    It takes an average of doing something constantly for 10 weeks to change a habit. That’s a long time when you think about it. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

