Poetry Stop

I used to write poetry all the time in my teenage years, but as I’ve gotten older, it’s become one of those things that I rarely do. And when I do write a poem, most of the time it is such a personal piece that I won’t share it, not wanting the blogosphere to know my vulnerabilty. However, when I was feeling a mix of emotions and needed to write through them at a quarter past midnight, I felt that my poem could be applied to a number of situations, so now I want to share it with you. I hope you like it…

Someone shiny and new

Has taken your place,

And so begins

Your fall from grace.

Like an old dog

You get pushed aside,

Left to lick your wounds,

To nurse your pride.

They’ve found someone else

To adore;

They don’t care for you,

Not anymore.

As you can see, it is only a short piece, but I feel it is too the point. It can represent an ex moving on with a new partner, being replaced in the workplace for a younger version, a friend dumping you to be with new people or an old dog contending with the new puppy its owner has bought it anticpation of his impending death. A little morbid perhaps and rather emo but it’s life.

I’d love to hear feedback on this weather you relate to it, or have any constructive criticism, just post a comment below 🙂

This entry was posted in poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

