Changing Seasons

I absolutely love this time of year. Leaves are changing, falling; the air is an embracing cold; and you get to cosy up in lovely layers of jumpers and scarves.

I always attempt to write poems about autumn, but what I write just cannot compete with the nature poetry written by the likes of Wordsworth et al. So I’m going to stick with blogging about it instead…..

On cold, sunny days, where the reds and yellows of fallen leaves seem tinged with gold, where the leaves crunch underfoot or float about on the breeze, that is when I feel most peaceful. It feels like my soul can ease itself and I feel content with everything, even if everything isn’t entirely how I want it. I feel that I need that sense of calm more than ever lately, feeling in a state of flux, where nothing feels truly certain anymore… looking for a job, spirtually leaving my parent’s house, but physically still here… everything is just for now.

I have been spending a lot of time in my own head lately, but the changing seasons have reminded me to be more present. When I’m walking down a street, I’m trying to spend more time seeing than thinking. Thinking is afterall a dangerous past time; ok in small doses but too much and you begin to get paranoid or blow things out of proportion. Trying to be more present, the other day, I noticed a tree trunk bending at an almost 45 degree angle. I’ve been walking past this tree on a regular basis for well over a year now and have never noticed the irregularity of this tree. It’s a little thing really, but its amazing how much you miss in the world around you when your mind is racing, planning, daydreaming.

Being in the present and noticing the things around you is definately a good exercise to do; the present, the here and now, is after all, all we have. It’s ok to dream and plan for the future but over do it and you miss what is or could be happening right now. It’s all about finding a balance really.

So when I traverse the streets, kicking up leaves, I’m enjoying the present, feeling peaceful and content, but in the back of my mind I am hoping that the winds of change will effect my life as well as the seasons.

Taken at Rydal Hall, Lake District. September 2010

This entry was posted in autumn, happiness, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

