Appreciate It

This morning, I took a short walk out to post my entry to a writing competition, on my way back I thought it would be a good topic to blog about, being the first competition I have entered.

However, on arrival home, having a quick browse through Facebook, I read of the sad news that a school friend had lost her partner and the father to her two children.

I was never great friends with this girl, but through facebook, I’ve seen her little family grow and last night she updated with the sad news that her boyfriend and his brother had died. She didn’t go into details but it is obvious it was some kind of tragic accident.

Reading through all the posts from her friends and family on her facebook wall, my heart broke for her. Telling the world about me posting my entry to a writing competition didn’t matter anymore. There are bigger things going on in the world, both in private lives and the public eye, stuff with more significance.

This girl, in a matter of minutes it seems, became a single mother to two children under the age of 3. Those children will only have old photographs of their father to look at; no real memories; no male role model.

It’s just too sad.

It reminds me that old age is not a certainty. That we shouldn’t take things for granted. That we should always tell our friends and family just how much we love them.

Such little things that get forgotten with the hustle and bustle of everyday life, but come screaming back to you when mortality rears its ugly head.

So if you only do one thing today, appreciate the people in your life.

However crazy, weird and wonderful they are, I love my boyfriend, I love my friends and I love my family.

 

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

