Wipe it off your sleeve, your superiority

I’ve been listening to Paloma Faith’s ‘Fall to Grace’ album a lot over the past few days and there is this one song that just sticks out and strikes a chord with me everytime. It’s called ‘Black and Blue’ and it’s my favourite from the album.

This song is about being humble; that everybody has got stuff going on and that you shouldn’t be so quick to judge. And this meaning for me is kind of two fold.

First, when I reflect on my past, there were times when I was a bit crazy, drinking myself into a better mood, looking for attention from anyone, so of course, there were people that would judge me, but they didn’t know me, they didn’t know how my heart was breaking. I feel that this song is my retrospective attack on them, telling them not to be so snobby, that everybody has issues of some kind.

The meaning behind ‘Black and Blue’ also reminds me, in my present self, not to be so judgmental of other people. I have to admit that there are times when I make snap judgments of people, writing them off, for example, as complete airheads, and I need to get out of this habit. You should get to know somebody before you decide if you like them or not, and even if you do decide that you do not like them, you should at least respect them.

So wipe it off your sleeve, your superiority

Video | This entry was posted in life, music, people, reflections, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

