Useless Education?

There was a report on the news this morning about students complaining about their university courses being poor value for money. Apparently 1 in 3 first year students think this.

I thought my university education was too expensive in relation to how many lectures I attended each week and the facilities provided, and this was before the government upped the fees to a maximum of £9,000 per year (3x the price of my fees per year!)

I was never at uni all day, everyday; lectures and classes were usually only a couple of mornings or afternoons a week, and because the university was only small the library wasn’t much cop either (although the library has been re-developed since I graduated).

I feel that university is not worth the money you pay for it, unless you are at one of the top universities in the country. I feel this even more two years after handing in my final assignment and still without a job that represents my education.

Coincidentally, I have also read a blog post about governments wanting to keep poor people poor and the rich rich over at Mittens Kittens. She writes of having a meeting to help with her job search and being told that the government where she lives in Australia don’t really want people to study. She suggests that the government want to keep poor people uneducated, I suppose so that they are more willing to do menial jobs. And I think the UK government is guilty of the same thing. David Cameron is from a well-educated, upper class background, and as I see it, he’s keeping the rich people rich and the poor unable to strive for something better. Hike up the price of education and only the rich will be smart and occupying the high flying jobs – you don’t want poor people working their way up and rubbing shoulders with you, do ya David?

Taking into consideration what I have just written, I am a bit divided to be honest. On the one hand, I feel that university is a waste of money based on my own experience and subsequent failing job hunt. But on the other hand not everyone will have the same experience as me, and should have the chance of a good education regardless of their background.

So the point of this post? Universities should be cheaper and should provide more teaching time. Obviously, its not as simple as it sounds but something needs to be done.

This entry was posted in education, news, university and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Useless Education?

  1. khinjarsi says:

    I read the article this morning and think it’s hilarious. It’s almost like the country is surprised students aren’t happy about their course value. I’m at a top ten UK university, and I got about 6 hours a week contact time, and the £9k students on the same course don’t get anything different to us. Had I known all this before I came to uni I would have really looked at going elsewhere or even doing a part-time OU course.

  2. reebit says:

    I think this is applicable to America as well! many young people cannot find jobs related to their education but we are encouraged to go to college to spend money on it for no real reason. There aren’t enough jobs for college educated! I had to get my master’s just to compete for a job in my field. I think Uni is getting to be a big lie. Raising the prices like that to keep people in their station instead of upward mobility is hurting us in more ways than we know.

  3. sosfeet says:

    Have to agree with you guys. Would appreciate it if you would care to look at my blog, to see statistics regarding new graduates and lack of NHS new graduate jobs. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

