Dreams

I had a dream. I dreamt that I came up with an amazing idea for my writing. The thing is, the dream was about me getting the idea and trying to write it out; I can’t remember what the actual idea was. Dreams are funny like that aren’t they?

Frustrating when forgotten with the dawn; but also fantastical, uplifting, heart-breaking, and inspiring.

These successions of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that occur involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep can be completely random, or your subconscious trying to talk to you. My own dreams are often bizarre, incomplete stories, I think, representing my overactive brain and love of Dr Who. Yes I have had many Dr Who based dreams.

Many people believe in dream interpretation, an attempt to unify your conscious and subconscious; your mind, with your body and soul. The internet is saturated with websites that offer a meaning to the images your mind creates.

To be writing in a dream, like I was, according to one such website, signifies communication with someone or with your conscious mind, but it could also mean a mistake or an error in judgement.

Personally, I think that I had this dream because I have been trying to write and come up with amazing ideas. I haven’t been writing all that much lately, and I am trying to rectify that. I’ve even created my own page on Facebook to share my writing with others and want new pieces to share. So, the dream where I am writing out a brilliant idea doesn’t represent a mistake (at least none I am aware of), but is my mind processing the demands I am putting on it.

I do feel that sometimes dream interpretation can be useful if you really don’t understand why you are dreaming of something and are disturbed by it, but I reckon most of the time, you will know why you dreamed it. I dream of Dr Who because I like the show and sometimes wish that I could travel amongst the stars. I dream of my grandparents because I miss them.

Sometimes, my mind will even create an entire story for me, causing me to wake in the middle of the night, and write it down in a bleary eyed state, just so I don’t risk forgetting the potential bestseller that it might one day become.

Yes, dreams are extraordinary things. I love how weirdly wonderful they can be. And I love sharing my dreams with others, especially the utterly random, bizarre ones; they seem to make life more interesting, and definitely remind me that I DO have an imagination; a very useful tool when it comes to writing.

This entry was posted in dreams and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dreams

  1. I have a funny knack of being able to read in my dreams. Word for word. I’ve read novels and checked my email – and I can’t remember a thing aside from being consciously surprised that I could read in a dream! So I agree. Dreams are extraordinary things.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • sophie king says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’ve had dreams where I’m reading, very aware that I am reading in a dream, even though I’m still asleep but as soon as I wake up, I’ve completely forgotten what I read.

  2. Pingback: On Dreams | Tea, Books & Thoughts

Leave a Reply

