Taking some time to write

I feel like I haven’t written anything in such a long time!

Life can get a little hectic sometimes which makes it difficult to find the time to write, and when you do have a little time, you just want to veg out in front of the TV with a nice bacon sandwich. But for the most part I feel like I haven’t got anything good to write about.

I’m writing this at 7.30 in the morning, half hour before my alarm is due to go off to get me up for the voluntary work I’m doing at a library. I’d woken up anyway and this little voice inside was like, Hey, instead of going back to sleep, why don’t you write something?

So here I am, writing anything, just so that I am writing something.

I purchased a book not too long ago; The Writer’s Idea Book by Jack Heffron. Admittedly, I have only read the first few pages so far, but what I have read has been really useful.

In his first chapter, he discusses getting started with your writing. His first suggestion is simply showing up. Get to your desk or wherever you write on a regular basis; it needs to become a habit. Apparently, Woody Allen once said that 80% of being successful in life is just showing up. Personally, I write a lot sitting on my bed with old school pen and paper. Sitting at my computer, I get distracted by the internet and procrastinate an awful lot. I find that sitting on my bed, I am more comfortable, and can block out the rest of the world more easily; and considering that the bed is one place you will definitely be on any given day, I find it is the perfect place; now it’s just a matter of keeping my eyes open long enough to get a few things jotted down.

Heffron also advises that you acknowledge that writing is hard, and suggests writing about it being hard. I definitely notice the words flowing when I write about writing. I may not write great stories or articles, but I know about writing. (Is the word writing starting to sound weird yet?)

Writing gives me power. Writing gives me a voice. Writing calms me, and restores my soul. If all I had was pen and paper, I would be happy. Writing is infinite, unrestricted. Even if I’m just writing about nothing in particular, I’m happy to be writing.

I’m sure that as I progress through the Writer’s Idea Book and other idea getting techniques my brain will be inundated with ideas, unlocking the hidden depths of my imagination, creating the greatest piece of writing ever. But in the mean time I will just write about the process.

After all, it is all about the journey.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking some time to write

  1. Pingback: The “I Don’t Have Time to Write” Excuse | Page by page

Leave a Reply

