Finding Motivation

It has been a while since I wrote my last post, and that is because I haven’t actually wanted to write anything. I have plenty of ideas noted down, waiting to be turned into a blog post or a story, but I simply haven’t felt the inclination to put pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard.

To be honest, I have been in a bit of a rut.

I have been in a little bit of a dark place in regards to where I am in life, and have been developing anxiety about a lot of things. In the back of my mind, I was telling myself that I should write something, writing is what usually calms me, but I still didn’t feel inclined to write. In the end, I told myself that I should do something because I want to rather than because I feel I should and decided to take a break; to focus on making changes in my life rather than distracting myself from it.

A month or so later, and I’m back feeling completely re-energized and ready to face the world once again. Whilst my life hasn’t done a complete turn-around just yet, change is in progress and I’m poised to get back into my writing.

I feel like I have got my mojo back.

In the past, I’ve had the ‘Just Do It!’ frame of mind; no matter how you are feeling, just do it (whatever it may be) and you’ll feel better. But in the deepest part of my rut, I couldn’t see how writing would make me feel better; my heart would not have been in it, so it made sense to me to not do it. Sometimes you need to take a break, take things easy, and be easy on yourself.

I see a lot of articles on the internet about motivating yourself to do things, most of them containing numerous inspirational quotes in order to get you going, which is a great thing, sometimes a good quote and a pretty picture are enough to push you on, but other times, they’re not suitable. Maybe you’ve become so unmotivated that you view each article and inspirational quote with a degree of cynicism and scorn. When this happens, you should step away from the computer and take a break.

I, myself, found that taking a break was the best option. Whilst you probably cannot completely cut yourself off from life for a little while, reducing the amount you are doing, and minimizing the stress factor is definitely a good start. You could call it a Mental Health Holiday. If you’re not motivated to do something, than don’t do it. It sounds simple, but it works; after a short amount of time, you’ll find yourself re-energised and ready to face the world once again.

Sometimes, simply doing nothing can bring about the best kind of motivation.

This entry was posted in Journal, life, mind and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

