Money money money

Some of you may know that I’ve been looking for a job for like, well, a really long time now.

Well the other day, I got one.

Before you start feeling happy for me, this person you’ve probably never met, I turned the job down.

It was a job at an adult education centre, which would’ve been a great job, but it was only for a few hours a week, with equally few pound coins to match.

Whilst I’m not exactly on millions in my cleaning job, it’s more than this other one. Because both jobs were only for a few hours a day, I did question if I could do both but it was just not possible, unless I wanted to work nights and not see my family and friends at all. The choice was made to stay in the highest earning of these low paid jobs.

I’m trying to buy a house, I need as much money as I can get.

I never thought I would be one for money. Money, after all, is not what makes you happy. But the older I get, the more I realise that whilst money will not love you, it will provide shelter and food. Money doesn’t make you happy, it makes you comfortable.

I hate that I had to turn a job down because of money. It’s disappointing that when I am finally offered a job, I can’t take it. I comfort myself in the knowledge that it is for us though, for the boyfriend and I to move onto the next phase of our life.

It is a wise choice to stay where the money is. Some do say that it is money that makes the world go round, and I’m definitely starting to believe it.

I just can’t fathom how in past generations things were so different. I only wish I could buy a house at the price my parents’ paid for theirs over 30 years ago. Further back in history, you could pay for things buy offering something you owned, or made; no monetary notes and coins required.

We could go about the state of the economy, benefits, taxes, the greedy government, etc etc. but we could be here for a while, so here’s ABBA…

This entry was posted in Journal, life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

