Goodbye 2014, It’s Been Great

Here we are again, another three hundred and sixty five days have been and are now gone.

And like Janus, a mythical God of Rome, who had one head to look upon the past, and another to look upon the future (and like a lot of other people) I am reflecting upon the days that have been, and making plans for the ones that lie ahead.

Janus

Looking back, I can honestly say to you that my 2014 was amazing.

My word for the year was progress, to keep up in moving forward in life, and I have achieved it. I’d love to tell you that I worked extremely hard for all of it, but in some cases I think I was just lucky.

My main goals for 2014 to aid in my mission to progress were, to get a house, to pass my driving test, and to get a new job. And all I can say is mission complete.

It really is quite satisfying knowing that I have achieved everything I wanted to this year. It feels like it has gone by so fast, but in other ways, it feels like an age ago that I was writing out my 2013 post, trying to fill myself up with some fighting spirit in order to face 2014, and actually gain something.

I also gained some things that I were not on my list, like getting a GCSE revision book published, oh, and a little thing called a fiancé too.

It truly has been a momentous year and I am currently feeling absolutely blessed. I know that you can’t always get what you want so I am considering myself very lucky, and I definitely won’t be resting on my laurels as 2015 commences.

Looking forward, I have been thinking about my objectives and dreams for this coming year and for my life in general, and I reckon that it is time I focused a little more on my writing. Writing all the ideas I have scribbled in notebooks, writing my idea for a novella, writing more blog posts; it is time I stopped dreaming of being a writer and actually become a writer. The excuses of a lack of time or a lack of ideas has to stop now if I ever want to make my dream a reality. Yes, I’ve made some progress in the area, but I want to make a much bigger mark.

I cannot rely on 2014’s lucky streak to last through into the next or future years, so now it’s all about putting the work in. I am a firm believer in putting in the effort to reap the rewards, but lately, my effort has been slacking, so, as is a customary feeling for most as January dawns, I am facing 2015 with a renewed sense of purpose and energy toward my aspirations.

Let’s hope it lasts longer than a week.

 

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

